Turkish beetroot and pistachio dip

DSC_0004When did you last travel? For me it’s been way too long, in fact I’m convinced that I suffer a severe case of travel-deficit-disorder (is that a thing?). As my student budget does not allow me the luxury of a holiday abroad, I’ve been finding alternative ways of satisfying my wanderlust. First it was a glossy travel magazine, then it was binge-watching Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman’s adventures round the world in “Long way round” (I highly recommend). The best form of mental travel, though, is through the medium of food.

I’ve always loved the spirit of social dining which Mediterranean meze convey. Not only does it allow you to try a variety of different things, I find that the sharing of food promotes a sense of cohesion and congeniality among diners. It is very hyggeligt, cozy, as one might say in Danish.

So when my friend suggested a meze-themed Turkish night at her place, I was completely keen. My contribution to the spread was this pretty pink, pistachio-embellished beetroot dip. Something of a visual showpiece, this dip is a breeze to make and so delicious.

So dear reader, if you are as desperate for an exotic break as I am, I’ve found the perfect remedy: get in the kitchen, cook up some meze (preferably with a Turkish friend skipping and singing alongside you), and listen to this track. Perfect travel simulation.

PS: I’m pleased to announce that I have finally rooted out (!) all of my darling beetroots, so the blog will be taking a well-deserved beetroot break over the next couple of weeks.

Serves 4:
1 beetroot, scrubbed but not peeled
250 g greek yoghurt
1-2 garlic cloves, chopped finely
2 tablespoons olive oil
salt
3 tablespoons pistachio nuts, chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

2. Wrap the beetroot in foil. Place on a baking tray and roast for 45 minutes, or until just tender.

3. Leave the beetroot until cool enough to handle, then rub or peel the skin off. Finely grate the beetroot and fold it into the yoghurt with the garlic and olive oil. Season with salt to taste.

4. Serve the dip with crushed pistachios sprinkled on top. Mop up the dip with good bread.

Adapted from Turkish Meze by Sevtap Yüce

This entry was posted in Sides & Snacks, Veggies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

